Why Some Individuals Do Not View Fig Fruits As Vegan, While Most Do?

Vegan Meal Prep
Vegan Meal Prep
Vegan Diet Plans
Vegan Diet Plans

Veganism is a way of life that aims to reduce the cruelty to animals and the exploitation of them, to the maximum extent. So, no animal derivative is part of vegan diet plans. You can consume fig fruits in a raw or a dried form. These fruits have an abundance of antioxidants, fair amounts of fiber, and small quantities of iron, copper, calcium, and potassium. Figs seem ideal for those on a fully plant-based diet, so you are likely to think that these are viewed as ‘vegan-friendly’. However, some individuals indicate that these are not vegan consumer goods.

The Reasons For Both Views

The state of figs being vegan has triggered a debate because some individuals do not deem figs so, despite these being unprocessed fruits. They indicate that the process of developing that figs go through before reaching maturity is not in line with veganism. The form of fig flowers keeps them from depending on wind or bees to spread the pollen like other buds can. Rather, figs have to depend on certain wasps for reproduction.

Towards the final stage of its life, a female fig wasp lays eggs on an inverted fig bud by crawling through the small opening of it. The wasp breaks off its wings and antennae when laying its eggs there and it dies soon after the process. After that, an enzyme in the fig digests its body, at the same time as the eggs start to hatch. After these hatch, a male larva mates with the female one, and it goes from the plant, with pollen on its body, to sustain the lifecycle of the two species.

Fig fruits emerge from the death of the wasp, so some individuals indicate that these should not be regarded as ‘vegan-friendly’. Even so, figs reproduce with the help of the wasp to the same extent as the insect relies on these plants. This relationship enables the two species to continue to exist. Almost every individual, including vegans, does not equate the process to the cruelty or exploitation of animals, so they deem figs vegan.

Not Every Fig Derivative Is Vegan

Usually, figs are consumed as dried or fresh fruits, but these can also be used to produce many different food items. All goods made from figs are not vegan. For example, some baked items made from figs have dairy elements or eggs. Jelly made from the fruits tends to contain gelatin, which is an animal derivative.